Need a place to learn how to do animation stuff

SonicRainb00m

Hi, everypony! I'm pretty new here, and as I mentioned in my introduction, I happen to have Adobe Flash CS3 Professional, which ran me about $300... I haven't used it that much, due to the lack of motivation. But I think you guys can help solve my problem.

I could do some OK animations back when I used the program in school, but since then, I have pretty much forgotten everything in Flash. So my question is this: do any of you ponies know where I can get up to speed on animating stuff in Flash for the brony community? I've heard that able animators are needed, and I could be a potential candidate, if I could learn how to do it... I mean, who knows, when the show is cancelled (hopefully not for a LONG time), it would be cool if the fandom could continue making episodes or something like that.

If animating doesn't work out for me, I'll have to go to writing fanfics, which is perfectly fine, since I'm a pretty good writer, but I've been leaning towards animating things.

Thanks in advance. :)

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

In my experience (which is by no means vast), the best way to learn animation is to animate.

Seriously, open up flash and just play around. Create some stuff and get the best possible feel you can for the tools available. If you feel struck for ideas, have a look at a particular sequence you like, slowing it down and viewing it frame by frame to work out how they got it to work.