A series of images as I learn to draw ponies from no prior experience

CrossStitch

So, as the title implies; I have no prior art experience be it professional or as a hobby. But that hasn't stopped me from trying to learn. Here I will be posting images as I gradually learn more and more about drawing. I ask, nay, BEG that you brilliant artists out there give me some tips. I can take harsh criticism, so please tell me your honest opinions.

Well... Without further adieu:

Some tips my teachers basically hammered into my head.

1. Draw spheres, not circles. You want to have a sense of depth. ;-)

2. Draw through. The eyes, the mouth, the mane, the body - everything. It allows you to understand how everything goes together. This applies for basically all the things in a drawing. :20:

3. Draw from the shoulder as often as possible, and draw smooth single (or as little as possible) lines - not just for the clean feel, but because it shows the strength of your pose easier. "Feathering" multiple lines on the same areas creates an "illusion" of what your intent was, which comes back to bite you if you try to make a clean version afterwards, since you won't be able to tell how it's supposed to go perfectly. :smug:

4. Check your reference to make sure you're getting proportions right - assuming you're going for the show's style. But even then, checking the reference of the original model build of the characters you're drawing is important. :-(

5. Do NOT try to recreate poses from the show/professional fanart - you're undoubtedly going to make a weaker pose and drawing overall, and at best, you'll just have a drawing that's already been done. This isn't because of skill or experience, it's just something that happens. :-|

6. Keep It Simple and know your limits. Drawing is all about practice, practice, practice. Despite all I've said, JUST GET IT DONE, it's all a learning experience, and it takes a lot of time to be able to apply all the rules. :twisted: