Was GIMP a bad idea?

Lux

So I have been drawing for two months now.

My art is (at least I think) good, but not up to the calibur of many of the artists I favorite on Deviant Art.

What I am seeing is that many artists are using Photoshop with very few using GIMP.

Call me paranoid, but is using GIMP a bad idea? Is it hindering the potential of my art?

I know art is mostly practice, but I'm wondering if the tool I'm using is hindering things.

I don't think so. You shouldn't worry too much about the program you're using, worry about practicing and improving you skills :P

Unless you have the money/ don't mind pirating the program of the net I think it's best to stick to GIMP.

hi hi

I think that for most people, photoshop is just what is familiar to them. I see a lot more people branching out into different tools like Paint Tool Sai. Painter used to be a common alternative too. But honestly, most artists don't end up using most of what Photoshop has to offer anyway, so it probably wouldn't make much difference which one they used.