Completely New to Forum-Based RPs; Help

BrainedBySaucepans

Hi all, I'm pretty new to the site, but I already love the atmosphere and would like to get more involved. The next logical step seems to be the RP section, but here's where I hit a snag; I've never been part of a forum-based RP system before.1 If the questions I have are all covered elsewhere, I sincerely apologise, and would request that someone point me in the right direction, but my searches3 did nothing but confuse me further.4

Where should I start? How do I create a character? Do they have to be a character shown briefly in the show or can they be an OC? What are the rules governing what you can and can't do when creating a character? Once I've created a character what then?5

As you can see, I have many questions and few answers. Overall, what I'm after is a general guide of how the whole RP works.6

--------

1 Don't worry, I'm not a total newb to RP in general; I got into MLP because several friends at my LARP group2 highly recommended it, and I've participated in my share of tabletop RP campaigns, it's the bits specific to how it works on a forum I'm confused about.

2 By the way, if any Brits on here are interested in trying out LARP (Live Action Role Play), I am the co-founder of a fairly new system which is actively recruiting at the moment. We have a sci-fi setting and hold 3-4 events a year, plus meet-ups at conventions etc. Send me a message if this intrigues you.

3 Which I freely admit I didn't spend more than ten minutes on.

4 Mainly because the threads I found dealt with quite specific questions, and what I'm after is more of a general overview of the entire process, start to finish.

5 What would you do for a Klondike bar? What's the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?

6 I don't ask for much.