New to drawing

thebandgem

I'm new to this whole drawing thing so I was wondering if I could be given some tips and stuff and maybe some software for drawing on the computer? Thanks to all!

I tend to make art of my own creations since I can see them in my mind. The  yes, as QuickLime said, references are important! Today I drew a griffon and had pictures of panthers and ravens up on my screen to get the basic idea. Practice a lot if you want to improve and don't give up! 

As far as art programs, I use an old program called ArtRage. I bought it online for like 25$.

I'm not artist professional or anything but i do find it a fun outlet! 

Good luck!! :)

Oooh! If you don't already have one, try picking up a wacom tablet from your local electronics store. They range from pretty inexpensive to super homg expensive, but a cheap little Wacom Bamboo tablet is really all you need. It'll make drawing on a computer a million times easier than using a mouse.

Learning the tools of the program you're planning on using to draw helps a lot too. I use Photoshop and Sketchbook Pro myself, though the two programs are very different. If you like your tools to behave more like real physical media, Sketchbook Pro is a god send. It also has a variety of tool options to help keep your lines pretty and straight when you're cleaning up sketches, without having to learn how to use the pen tool in Photoshop. Although I would recommend trying out the pen tool. c: It makes cleaning up and coloring drawings a piece of cake, and really quick. Plus there are tons of tutorials on how to use it available for free throughout the internet~

Photoshop is available for a monthly subscription fee of, like, $10 a month. Sketchbook Pro is a one time fee of $60, but is one of the most diverse and fun art programs I've ever used~

Aside from that, like Quicklime said: reference, reference, refrerence.