Howdy

Hishtagat

Apologies if this will seem somewhat disjointed, I'm not too good with greetings of any sort.

I've been happily following the show since late October/November last year, if memory serves. I was introduced to it by a friend of mine, who is not, however, an active participant in the fandom and so it is only now that I've decided to give the entire community thing a shot myself.

Outside of ponies, I'm an avid gamer (in fact I'd easily call it my primary hobby) who's somewhat disillusioned with contemporary gaming scene and vast majority of recent titles. I also enjoy a broad spectrum of music genres and love horror movies. I'm very particular about the latter, as I tend to avoid the ones employing gross-out tactics over genuine scare due to excessive gore.

On personal level, I'm in my early twenties, located somewhere in Europe and preparing for a move abroad on my own.

Since I don't want this to end up as TL;DR material, I'll just stop rambling now ;).

I agree with you on the state of "mainstream" commercial gaming, but I think this indie scene is hotter than it's ever been. Between Steam, X-Box live, and the PS3 network, there's a lot more room for the little guys than there used to be. As far as the BIG games go, it's all sequelitis, and Japan isn't as big as they used to be either. I LOVE japanese games, but these days it seems like all of the big buzz titles are American.

So.... Welcome to Canterlot!

Indie scene is certainly doing well, however it's not just the lack of innovation and sequel plague that bothers me personally about the modern market as a whole. While the raise of indies have breathed new life into certain genres, like platformers, other genres that are noticeably absent or otherwise in poor shape in the mainstream do not get as much attention even among indie crowd.