Fancy a game of Mornington Crescent?

Frankly, I'd be amazed1 if anyone else here knew the rules, but it's worth a try. If you don't, please don't Google the rules; it's a complex and subtle game, and fumbling around like an amateur will get you nothing but laughter at your expense.

We'll stick with the standard rule set for now,2 but if this goes well, I may break out my Advanced Supplementary Rule Book; it contains around 800 different variations, and I'm sure could keep us going until next Winter Wrap-Up!4

I'd also appreciate it if you provided some sort of commentary or rationale behind your moves; I'm a keen student of the game, and would love a chance to study the techniques of others.

With all that said, I'll make the first move.

West Hampstead

I know it's a bit of a clichéd opening gambit, but the old strategies are the best ones!

--------

1 And delighted.

2 Since most users on here are probably not fortunate enough to be English.3

3 With that in mind, it would be probably be best if I linked to the game board: http://www.tfl.gov.u...rd-tube-map.pdf

4 Although mainly as a fuel source.

Sorry if I misunderstood, but when someone on the internet tells me not to click or Google something I generally assume:

a) They're trying to use reverse psycology to make me do it, or

b) They're actually trying to warn away from something gross or offensive.

Either way, it's best to not do it :P

...so, was I actually supposed to Google it or not?

Not entirely sure what you mean by obvious. Since you're new to the game, I'd recommend you don't try devising your own strategies right away.1

I'll let you get away with overconfidence just this once.2

I'll go... Waterloo

--------

1 Look up one of the classic games and see if you can mimic one of the great masters.

2 But don't push your luck.