Legit Doctor Who, question/discussion

Alright, I'll start out with what lead me to thinking this.

A friend and fellow Brony, who sported a Derpy Hooves hat to Gen Con this year, brought back some gifts for my roleplay group, and the item I got was a Sonic Screwdriver, one of those toy ones (similar to 10th Doctors.) Now, I'm a huge Doctor Who fan, and I've seen almost all the episodes since the reboot of the show (which was on the 9th Doctor).

When I got home. I started thinking, now at this time it was 1 AM, so I've been thinking this over for an two hours straight, and its driving me up a wall.

Anyways, everyone who watches, or has watched The Doctor, knows that Timelords can regenerate. My question is, can a male Timelord regenerate into a female one and vice versa? I was discussing this briefly with some people on Facebook, and they...weren't following what I was trying to discuss, so I was little annoyed. Actually, while in the middle of this, someone stated information that I didn't know about, which I will get to in a bit.

So, my argument is as followed:

I mean, if you really want to get down to it. Taking the example of a human being, we need the opposite gender to have off-spring. If the Timelords were an advance race of people before the Time Wars, then they either had some way to stop regeneration into the opposite gender, either cloning, or some sort of genetic marker.

Or, the timelords themselves got to choose which gender they wanted to be since each and every time they regenerate, which if thats the case, would explain why the Doctor hasn't randomly regenerated into a female. If its a random thing, then gender swapping after regeneration might be an EXTREMELY rare chance, having the Doctor regenerate 11 times now, throughout his 900+ years.