Greetings, everypony! (Or: Spare My Roommates my Ponymania)

Dunes

About myself.: Hallo! My name is Kirah, but I picked up the nickname "Dunes" somewhere along the line and I tend to roll with it. I'm a college student, majoring in studio art and art teacher education. I hail from Texas, and other than art, my hobbies are reading, comic books, video games, learning CSS/PHP/that sort of thing, and exploring the great outdoors with my dog.

How did you hear about Canterlot.com?: Someone mentioned it on a Brony meetup group and I thought I'd give it a shot.

How did you became a fan of FiM?: I thought the FiM trailer mashups were amusing and decided to see what the fuss was about.

My one favourite main cast pony?: AppleJack

^... Though Rainbow Dash is a close second.

I'm new to My Little Pony in general. Growing up, I knew it existed, but I didn't care for the shows and I preferred toys that looked like realistic animals (I had strange standards as a kid). I really have no nostalgic connection to MLP; which is why my newfound, unabashed love for FiM took me completely by surprise.

I don't remember where I saw the first trailer mashup video. I think it was probably "The Elder Scrolls VI: Equestria" that I saw first. I thought it was funny, and then forgot about it. Then I read an article on the show, and why the internet loves it, and thought, "Huh! Cool." Then I forgot about it again, until a few weeks ago when someone linked me the "My Little Serenity" video and I just thought, "Hey, what the heck? I'll watch a couple of episodes. It's supposed to be pretty good for a little girls' show."