Is RP worth it?

SirShadowdeath

I am a writer.

I've been writing stories since I was six and books since I was 8. I've spent most of my life writing (besides other hobbies). I've recently got into writing fanfic. People always tell me that I should try RP. I haven't yet. The question is, should I? And if I should, should I let MLP be my first RP topic? I mean, I'm not really a brony as much as I am a fan...

RPs are kinda like writing a story, but not knowing how the other character is going to react to your character. It's rather entertaining, and can be pretty awesome with the right people and the right story. So should you RP? Yes. Should MLP be your first RP? Depends. As far as this board goes, the Mane RP (The World of Equestria) has no real 'plot.' It's all based on character-to-character actions and reactions, kinda like the real world, but with ponies. However, you might be able to get a Free-For-All or Crossover RP going that DOES have a plot and make something awesome. You also have to take into consideration "Do I really want to RP with ponies?" The answer should be "Yes," but it's your call.

RPing combines reading and writing, because even if your leading the story, you never know where the other players are going to go. You can sometimes force them your direction (called 'railroading') but there is a lot of mixed control going on, and soemtimes things just dont go your way (especially since in a forum environmeny, as opposed to, say, DND, you cant *force* a skill-check)

On the other hand, these hops off the rails can be awesome, funny, touching, etc. I've had one or two RPs that were so powerful I actually found myself crying.